Seven Countries Removed From Spain’s “Safe List.”

This week, the Spanish government trimmed its “safe list” of non-EU countries that were previously deemed safe.

Travelers from Bahrain, Colombia, the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Peru, Qatar, and Uruguay now face stricter entry restrictions into Spain after being removed from the latter’s “safe list of third countries.”

The Spanish Ministry of Health announced the decision two days ago, stating that new rules against these seven countries would take effect immediately.

Previously, travelers arriving in Spain from one of these seven third countries were allowed to enter without providing proof of disease vaccination or a recent COVID-19 test.

However, because Bahrain, Colombia, the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Peru, Qatar, and Uruguay are no longer on the safe list, visitors from these countries must now show a valid vaccination certificate.

Regarding the validity of vaccination passes, travelers should be aware that beginning February 1, Spain will only recognize certificates indicating that the holder has been fully vaccinated against the virus within the previous 270 days.

“As of February 1, 2022,  the period of at least 14 days and no more than 270 days from the date of administration of your last dose will be required.” “The vaccination certificate must show the administration of the booster dose from that point forward,” Spain’s official tourism website, Travel Safe, emphasizes.

This means that anyone who received their last dose more than 270 days ago will need to get another one in order for their pass to be valid when they travel to Spain.

In addition to presenting a vaccination certificate, anyone over the age of 12 must fill out a health control form before entering Spain. After completing the form, travelers will receive a QR code, which can be presented to the responsible authorities upon arrival.

Despite changes to Spain’s safe list, several third countries will remain on it as long as their epidemiological situation does not worsen. The following third countries are currently on Spain’s safe list:

  • Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  • Chile
  • China, including the Hong Kong and Macao administrative regions
  • Korea, South
  • Indonesia
  • Auckland, New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • Taiwan

The Spanish authorities announced in the same update that, with the exception of Switzerland, all European Union and Schengen Area countries will remain on the risk list.

This means that all visitors arriving in Spain from an EU/Schengen Area country on the risk list must present a valid EU Digital COVID Certificate upon arrival in order to be admitted to the country.

Source: Schengen Visa Info

© Seven Countries Removed From Spain’s “Safe List.” –
Get some more News from Spain like Safe List